How style beats fashion

Hi Updaters!

No better way to start my year than to return to you! And I must say: it’s great being  back. I thought it would be fun to start off with a style post, so sit back and let’s turn up the sassiness in your personal style!

Massimo-Dutti-Fall-Winter-2013-4
Massimo Dutti a/w 2013

Signature style
Signature style is something that is actually very underestimated by a lot of people. This is quite sad because although you can’t change your genes, what you cán change is the way you wish to present yourself. I for instance have tried so many styles that when I look back sometimes I go: O no I didn’t?! But it’s great to go through a style revolution and to grow and learn as an individual.
My journey started with trying to be like everyone else but never quite being able to live up to their style, my mom would be like “you don’t have to be like all those other kids”, but you don’t really care when all you want is to fit in. So how did I do it? Well when I was about 16 years old I started wearing all black and occasionally combining it with bright colors. I slowly started making the transition to what is my current style: a modern take on the preppy office style mixed with a little rock & roll.
lg_524c4d63-d2c4-40d0-b799-052a0aa613dbAnd so my style revolution started, with some pretty good highs and some very terrible lows, but hey taste doesn’t grow over night! I purchased fake nerd glasses, because people were calling me that already so thought I’d better own the title. Then I started wearing blazers, slim fit clothes, beanies, skirts, highwaisted shorts, dresses and even high heels. Believe me I tried almost everything in the book to the point that I even started sewing my own clothes. Urban, minimalist, la garconne, colourblocking: you name it, I did it! So it has taken me quite a while to figure out what works for my personality, body shape, skin shade and at which stores I could get the desired clothes and accessories with the right value for my money. And today is your lucky day because I’m going to share the basics of great style with you so you can take a shortcut in your own personal style revolution!

Back to basics
hm-2011-autumnwinter-2011-13I apply the four S’es when, shopping, dressing or styling. Simple, smart, sexy and sophisticated.
Simple: I’ve noticed that very complicated styles don’t work for me,  I don’t feel comfortable moving in them. And because I’m a active person feeling restricted from movement doesn’t make life easier, that’s why less is more has been my motto for the past years. But if layers work for you, go for it! Just don’t feel the burden to do so.
Smart: I love dressing smart, like literally. Blazers, chino’s, briefcase and everything. But by smart I actually mean ‘know how to look your best’. That means detect your flaws and your strong points. Accentuate your strengths, disguise your weaknesses  and get a more ‘put together’ overall look.
Sexy: I think confidence is what makes a outfit sexy, even if you’re wearing a garbage bag. As long as you feel great in what you wear it is totally going to shine through (not that I’m now encouraging you to start wearing garbage bags!).
Sophisticated: Set yourself apart from the masses and be elegant and classy. No need to be flashy to get noticed. Make sure the items of choice are in  harmony with each other in color and snit.

Make it work
Before you can apply the S’es correctly it’s important to know what body type you are.

Ladies
I’d like to refer to the twelve body types that were defined by Trinny and Susannah, two renowned British fashion stylists. Click on the link to learn more about what works for your shape. Don’t take it too literal though, everybody is unique and you  have to try different things before you know for sure that something doesn’t work for you.

Gents
Yes guys, you got a specific body shape too and it wouldn’t hurt to know which type you are. I’d like to refer you to two different links, one general and one more specific site.

General must haves
cropped-burberry-prorsum-ss-2011-campaing-04.jpg

  • Black slim-fit jeans
  • Blue jeans
  • White t-shirt/tanktop
  • Black t-shirt/tanktop
  • Basic blouse (preferably slim- fit)
  • Timeless jumper
  • Blazer
  • Long jacket
  • Short jacket
  • A pair of dress shoes (loafers or heels for the ladies)
  • A pair of casual/neutral shoes (everyday wear)

Start with the basics to get your renewed style going,  it’s important however to keep in mind that your follow up purchases will be combinable with the wardrobe you already have otherwise you’ll be spending more money than needed. My advise is to go to  ‘actual’ stores at first, when you’ve figured out which brands, fits and colors work for you, you can start ordering online and make more expensive investments.
Whatever you do, remember that fashion fades and taste is here to stay. Have fun styling and stay tuned for the follow up!

See you at Highlight

Geef een reactie

